

Hon. Oneil Carlier, Minister of Agriculture and Forestry 229 Legislature Building 10800 - 97 Avenue Edmonton, AB Canada T5K 2B6

April 19, 2017

Dear Minister Carlier,

On behalf of our members, Team Alberta requests immediate action regarding the increasingly dire situation many Alberta farmers are facing with unharvested crops still out in the field.

On a conference call with you on budget day, March 16, 2017, we asked you directly if any resources have been allocated to expedite crop insurance claims in Budget 2017. Your office has not provided an answer.

Given that a significant portion of the over one million unharvested acres were covered with fresh snow in mid April, Team Alberta still would like an answer to that question: **What resources has the Government of Alberta allocated to expedite crop insurance claims in a timely manner?**

With the heavy mid-April snow in many areas of northern Alberta, farmers in those regions may not be able to plant this year's crop in time. We need to work together to ensure that last year's disaster does not put this year's crop at risk as the financial burden on farmers and their communities might be too large to bear. Given the urgency of the situation, we request a meeting with you and senior leadership from AFSC as soon as possible to discuss a mitigation strategy for those farmers that have not had their crop insurance claims addressed.

Please contact Erin Gowriluk, Government Relations and Policy Manager at the Alberta Wheat Commission to coordinate this meeting with representatives from Team Alberta. Ms. Gowriluk can be reached via telephone at (403) 890-5556 or email at: egowriluk@albertawheat.com.

We look forward to hearing from you directly.

Team Alberta is a collaborative initiative led by the province's four crop commissions:



TEAMALBERTA ADVANCING POLICY ON BEHALF OF ALBERTA'S CROP SECTOR

Sincerely,

Jason Lenz, Chair, Alberta Barley

DIJilgantine

5

Greg Sears, Chair, Alberta Canola Producers Commission

D'Arcy Hilgartner, Chair, Alberta Pulse Growers Commission

Kevin Auch, Chair, Alberta Wheat Commission

CC: Honourable Rachel Notley, Premier Bev Yee, Deputy Minister, Agriculture and Forestry

Team Alberta is a collaborative initiative led by the province's four crop commissions:

