

# **ADVANCING ALBERTA'S CROP SECTOR TO 2025 AND BEYOND**

May 10, 2018

## Dr. David Turpin

President and Vice-Chancellor University of Alberta Presidents Office 2-24 South Academic Building 11328 – 89 AVE NW Edmonton, AB T6G 2J7

An Open Letter to Dr. David Turpin:

Team Alberta is a collaborative initiative led by four of the province's crop commissions. Alberta Canola, Alberta Wheat, Alberta Barley, and Alberta Pulse Growers represent nearly 20 million acres of grains, oilseeds and pulses grown over 20,000 farms across Alberta. Our commissions are farmer elected, directed and funded organizations established to represent the interests of our farmer members. Together, we bring a unified voice to timely issues that have significant impact on the continued growth and competitiveness of Alberta's crop sector.

### Quaecumque vera

Whatsoever things are true. The motto of the University of Alberta reminds us of the values held by its students, faculty and researchers. Values, that in the 110 years since its humble beginnings on the top floor of an elementary school, have guided the University of Alberta to become one of the top five institutions of higher learning in Canada and one of the top 100 in the world. It is this value of truth from scientific rigour that attracted the members of Team Alberta to the University of Alberta for the knowledge and innovation that will drive agriculture forward in Alberta.

Collectively, in the last 30 years, the members of Team Alberta have contributed millions of dollars towards research projects, NSERC chairs, grants, equipment, scholarships and student activities. We are currently working with the Faculty of Agriculture, Life and Environmental Sciences in the filling of four agriculture related faculty positions. All because of the continued commitment to truth from scientific rigour.

#### **TEAM ALBERTA**

Team Alberta is a collaborative initiative led by four of the province's crop commissions. Our commissions are producer elected, directed and funded organizations established to represent the interests of our producers across the province.









This is not something that can be said about the recent controversial recipient of an award by the Senate of the University; an honorary degree allegedly to honour educating the public in science. Team Alberta, from having had to defend its farmer members from the mis-truths and innuendo of this recipient, know these actions were not done in the spirit of educating or scientific debate, but to contribute to the cult of personality. Whatsoever, they were not true.

The recipient's foundation is leading a lawsuit against the Pest Management Regulatory Agency that seeks to take away neonicotinoid seed treatments as a tool to deal with pests and will force producers to revert to practices that are damaging to the environment. His opposition to crops produced through the use of biotechnology would similarly have producers tilling the soil with increased erosion and greenhouse gas emissions.

By granting this award the Senate has abandoned the values of the University as embodied by its motto; it has abandoned the faculty and the students that are our future. Whatsoever, Team Alberta will not. *Quaecumque vera*.

Signed Team Alberta,

Mr. Renn Breitkreuz

Chair, Alberta Canola Producers Commission

Mr. Jason Lenz

Chair, Alberta Barley

2) Tilgarner

Chair, Alberta Pulse Growers

Mr. D'Arcy Hilgartner

Mr. Kevin Bender

Chair, Alberta Wheat Commission

Cc: The Honourable Rachel Notley, Premier of Alberta

The Honourable Marlin Schmidt, Minister of Advanced Education

The Honourable Oneil Carlier, Minister of Agriculture and Forestry

The Honourable Shannon Philips, Minister of Environment and Parks

Stanford Blade, Dean, Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Science, University of Alberta

### **TEAM** ALBERTA

Team Alberta is a collaborative initiative led by four of the province's crop commissions. Our commissions are producer elected, directed and funded organizations established to represent the interests of our producers across the province.







